i mean you know is a book to be read quietly alone. It also functions as a score for a performance. The book/ play takes place within a few hours of one day inside the minds of seven characters who co-inhabit the same building. This musical/ theatrical setting juxtaposes interior narratives of disparate characters into various arrangements: solo, duo, trio, quartet, sextet, and septet. The characters are: Sasha, the artist; Violone who is confined to a wheelchair and speaks through her violin; Myron, the mystic guilt-ridden millionaire; Ace Monroe, a British-born radio talk show host; Little Tracy, the toddler; Angelica, an African-American house painter and mother; and Trombonio who speaks only through his trombone. This book, published in 1984, further developed Lehrer’s approach to using typography as a means of creating psycho/acoustic translations of speech and thought on the printed page. While portraying stories and characters, this book/performance score celebrates those synaptic gaps and utterances between thoughts and speech that bridge our sometimes imperfect search for meaning (i mean) and a desire to connect with others (you know).

i mean you know written and designed by Warren Lehrer
original music composed by Warren Lehrer and Vince Luti. Lettering by Jan Baker.
1984, Visual Studies Workshop Press and EarSay Books
Hardcover, 8.5 x 12” x 152 pages. Printed via offset lithography at the Visual Studies Workshop in Rochester, NY, in two colors, black and gray, on Mohawk Superfine, an acid-free paper. Published in two editions: hardcover with dustjacket, and a boxed edition, bound quarter cloth and paper over boards. Both smythe sewn.

ISBN-10: 0898220351  ISBN-13: 978-0898220353
This is the one vintage limited edition book of Lehrer’s still available at original prices.

i mean you know- Deluxe Edition Boxed

BUY NOW $110 plus shipping

i mean you know- Hardcover with dustjacket

$50 plus shipping